Round Robin Tournament Scheduling

How many equivalence classes?

Richard A. DeVenezias

• Forum Administrator
on: September 27, 2006, 12:02:18 AM
This was posted on behalf on Maury Barbato ( sputarospo -at- alice -dot- it )

Subject: Round Robin Tournaments
Date: Wed, 20 Sep 2006 13:29:57 +0200

Hello Richard,

I'm an Italian student of Mathematics. I found on the web your very interesting pages about Round Robin Scheduling: this problem caught my attention since it seems very simple, but I soon realized that a mathematical study of this problem is quite difficult!

I posted the following problems in a sci.math thread, without receiving any answer.

Date: Sep 18, 2006 4:48 AM
Author: Maury Barbato
Subject: Round Robin Scheduling

Hello,

I'm trying to solve some problems about round robin scheduling. First of all, some definitions. In a round-robin tournament each team meets each other team exactly one time. We have 2n teams. The tournament is organized in 2n-1 rounds: in a round, each team plays exactly one match against another team. Formally, if we denote by 1,...,2n the teams, then the i-th round, 1<=i<=2n-1,is the set of all the matches R_i={{a_1,a_2},...,{a_{2n-1},a_{2n}}}, where a_i is a permutation of {1,...,2n}.

A brilliant algorithm to schedule a Round Robin tournament is given at the page http://www.nrich.maths.org/public/viewer.php?obj_id=1443&part=ind=ex&refpage=monthindex.php . Now the problems:

(I)
Given a round robin tournament R_i, i=1,...,2n-1, can you extract a match from each round, such that every team appears at the most two times in the extracted matches?
Can you find an algorithm to do it?

(II)