Round Robin Tournament Scheduling

10 Team Quiz League with 3 Triangular Meets Per Night

HillJackBob · 3 · 365

HillJackBob

on: February 23, 2024, 10:59:39 PM
Hello.  I'm a coach in an elementary school quiz league where our conference includes 10 teams.  Each night we have 3 triangular meets at 3 locations, and each week 1 team has the night off.  Right now the schedule is all messed up, there are 9 dates, some teams are playing each other 3 times, some just once, some teams have 0 byes, some have 1 bye week, and some have 2.  It's chaos.

I'd like to try to see if I could come up with a schedule with a 10th date, so therefore every team could have one bye week.  In that scenario, everyone SHOULD be able to play each other twice.  Can anyone direct me to a way to arrange these teams in this way.

i.e.  the first week could be (A B C) (D E F) (G H I) with team J on bye.  After 10 weeks, each team should have 1 bye, and have played each of the other teams twice.

Ian Wakeling

• Forum Moderator
  • God Member
Reply #1 on: February 24, 2024, 11:58:24 AM
No need for chaos, there is schedule for this scenario.  For example take the 3 triangles from each of the 10 rows below and that is your 10 round schedule.

Notice that the 10 columns numbered 1 to 10 may also prove useful.  Each column could be a quiz master provided by one of the schools, so for example school 1 provides the quiz master in column 1 and they ask the questions for the 3 triangles in rounds 2, 6 & 9, if you do this for all the columns then no quiz master will ever ask the questions for a triangle that includes their own school.  The columns could also be the school who hosts, so no team competes at their own school.

I think I have it arranged so that the two occasions when a particular pair of teams meet are never in consecutive rounds.  Hope that helps.

HillJackBob

Reply #2 on: February 24, 2024, 11:03:55 PM
You are a godsend!   Thank you so much!